VCU Athletics Staff Directory

Mailing Address

VCU Athletics
Siegel Center
1200 W. Broad St.               
Box 843013
Richmond, Va.
23284-3013
VCU Athletics
Sports Medicine Building
1300 W. Broad St.
Box 842003
Richmond, Va.
23284-2003

 

 

 

 

 

Fax Numbers

Administrative (804) 828-7526
Athletics Communications (804) 828-9428
Sports Medicine Building (804) 828-4938

Administration

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Ed McLaughlin
Vice President & Director of Athletics
804-828-6692 athleticsdir@vcu.edu
Dr. Mak Afework
Deputy Director of Athletics
804-827-0805 mafework@vcu.edu
Dr. Sofia Hiort-Wright
Senior Executive Associate AD/SWA (Sport Supervisor - Tennis)
804-828-2184 shiort@vcu.edu
Danny Sterling
Executive Associate AD
804-828-7398 sterlingd2@vcu.edu
Jeff Cupps
Executive Associate AD (Sport Supervisor - Soccer)
804-828-2255 jcupps@vcu.edu
Takeya McLaurin
Senior Associate Athletic Director for Administration (Sport Supervisor - Lacrosse, Field Hockey)
804-828-4813 tmmclaurin@vcu.edu
Dr. Tim Lampe
Senior Associate AD for Facilities (Sport Supervisor - Baseball)
804-827-1000 tclampe@vcu.edu
Keith Rafter
Associate AD for Sports Operations (Sport Supervisor - Volleyball, Cross Country, Track & Field)
804-827-0586 ktrafter@vcu.edu
Bryan Allen
Associate AD for Major Gifts
804-828-1764 blallen@vcu.edu
Kevin Jackson
Associate AD for External Operations
804-827-0808 jacksonks@vcu.edu
Tim Kontos
Associate AD for Sports Performance and Student-Athlete Wellness
804-305-3720 takontos@vcu.edu
Noah Strebler
Associate AD for Compliance & Student Services (Sport Supervisor - Golf)
804-827-1003 nstrebler@vcu.edu
Nate Doughty
Assistant AD for Facilities & Event Management
804-827-1002 ncdoughty@vcu.edu
Chris Kowalczyk
Assistant AD for Athletics Communications (MBB, Golf, Volleyball)
804-828-8818 ckowalczyk@vcu.edu
Daniel O'Brien
Assistant AD for Development and Major Gifts
804-828-4771 dobrien2@vcu.edu
Rebecca Piner
Assistant AD for Marketing & Promotions
804-828-2452 pinerre@vcu.edu
Mike Sanders
Assistant AD for Business Services
804-828-4050 mwsanders@vcu.edu
Maura Smith
Director of Human Resources
804 827-0794 mjsmith@vcu.edu
Catherine Policastro
Executive Coordinator to the Vice President & Director of Athletics
804-828-6692 capolicastro@vcu.edu

Academic Advising

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Dr. Sofia Hiort-Wright
Senior Executive Associate AD/SWA (Sport Supervisor - Tennis)
804-828-2184 shiort@vcu.edu
Kasey Mattison
Assistant Director of Student Athlete Support Services
804-828-1654 ksmattison@vcu.edu
Leslie Keen
Student-Athlete Academic Coordinator
804-828-1655 landerson27@vcu.edu
Maggie Brocklebank
Student-Athlete Academic Coordinator
804-827-2056 brocklebankm@vcu.edu
Jonathon Wilson
Student-Athlete Academic Coordinator
804-827-1108 wilsonj11@vcu.edu
Artis Gordon
Director of Student-Athlete Development
804-827-3544 ajgordon@vcu.edu
Caroline Comey
Tutor Coordinator
804-828-4298 cgcomey@vcu.edu

Athletics Communications/Media Services

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Chris Kowalczyk
Assistant AD for Athletics Communications (MBB, Golf, Volleyball)
804-828-8818 ckowalczyk@vcu.edu
Evan Nicely
Assistant Director of Athletics Communications (WBB, FH, Lacrosse)
804-828-1727 nicelyej@vcu.edu
Hannah Jo Riley
Assistant Director of Athletic Communications (MS, WS, Baseball)
804-828-8496 rileyh2@vcu.edu
Eddie Johnson
Creative Director
804-828-2324 johnsoner2@vcu.edu
Christian Fox
Video Production Manager
804-828-2319 foxc3@vcu.edu
TBA
Creative Video Content Manager
TBA
Graduate Assistant
TBA
Graduate Assistant

Business Services

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jeff Cupps
Executive Associate AD (Sport Supervisor - Soccer)
804-828-2255 jcupps@vcu.edu
Mike Sanders
Assistant AD for Business Services
804-828-4050 mwsanders@vcu.edu
Maura Smith
Director of Human Resources
804 827-0794 mjsmith@vcu.edu
Carletta Wilson
Office Manager
804-828-4045 cdpittma@vcu.edu
Grace Blevins
Employee & Student-Athlete Services Coordinator
804-827-0793 gablevins@vcu.edu
Jamie Dompier
Business Office Assistant
804-827-3413 dompierja@mymail.vcu.edu

Compliance and Student Services

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Noah Strebler
Associate AD for Compliance & Student Services (Sport Supervisor - Golf)
804-827-1003 nstrebler@vcu.edu
Ernest Washington
Director of Compliance
804-828-7618 elwashington@vcu.edu
Theresa Barsanti
Compliance Coordinator
804-828-4819 tgbarsanti@vcu.edu

Development/Ram Athletic Fund

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Danny Sterling
Executive Associate AD
804-828-7398 sterlingd2@vcu.edu
Bryan Allen
Associate AD for Major Gifts
804-828-1764 blallen@vcu.edu
Daniel O'Brien
Assistant AD for Development and Major Gifts
804-828-4771 dobrien2@vcu.edu
Vanessa Moore
Director of the Ram Athletic Fund
804-827-1822 moorevc@vcu.edu
Hagan Watson
Special Events & Fulfillment Director
804-828-3956 hhwatson@vcu.edu

Equipment Room

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kris Kullman
Equipment Manager
804-828-8639 kwkullman@vcu.edu
Jay Harris
Equipment Room Assistant
804-828-8639 jwharris@vcu.edu

Marketing

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Rebecca Piner
Assistant AD for Marketing & Promotions
804-828-2452 pinerre@vcu.edu
Dylan Baker
Assistant Director for Marketing & Promotions
804-827-7013 dbaker28@vcu.edu

VCU Sports Properties

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Robby Robinson
General Manager - VCU Sports Properties
804-828-4648 rrobinson@vcusportsproperties.com
Kate Schilling
Manager of Business Development
804-827-3563 kschilling@vcusportsproperties.com
Miles Hayter
Coordinator, Partnership Services
804-828-5958 mhayter@vcusportsproperties.com

Siegel Center & Facilities

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Dr. Tim Lampe
Senior Associate AD for Facilities (Sport Supervisor - Baseball)
804-827-1000 tclampe@vcu.edu
Nate Doughty
Assistant AD for Facilities & Event Management
804-827-1002 ncdoughty@vcu.edu
Dr. Tony Hobbs
Assistant Director of Facility Operations
804-827-1000 tdhobbs@vcu.edu
Taylor Carlson
Assistant Director for Facilities & Event Operations
804-827-1005 tjcarlson@vcu.edu
Maya Rogers
Athletics Facilities Business Manager
804-828-1007 rogersmy@vcu.edu
Andrew Barnes
Facilities Assistant
804-827-1000 atbarnes@vcu.edu
Nick Papazian
Facilities Assistant
804-827-1000 npapazian@vcu.edu
Alex Gray
Facilities Assistant
804-827-1000 agray5@vcu.edu
Clifton Simmons
Spectra Concessions & Catering
804-828-8421 Clifton.Simmons@spectraxp.com

Sports Medicine

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Tim Kontos
Associate AD for Sports Performance and Student-Athlete Wellness
804-305-3720 takontos@vcu.edu
Jeff Collins
Interim Director of Sports Medicine
804-827-3924 jmcollins@vcu.edu
Dennis Williams
Sports Medicine Director for Men's Basketball
804-828-2321 dwilliams78@vcu.edu
James Benzel
Associate Athletic Trainer
804-828-2321 jbenzel@vcu.edu
Michael Avey
Senior Assistant Athletic Trainer
804-828-2321 mhavey@vcu.edu
Justin Walker
Assistant Athletic Trainer
804-828-2321 jwalker49@vcu.edu
Ray Kim
Assistant Athletic Trainer
804-828-2321 rykim@vcu.edu
Jay Loehner
Assistant Athletic Trainer
804-828-2321 jloehner@vcu.edu
Chris Mignogna
Assistant Athletic Trainer
804-828-2321 camignogna@vcu.edu
Reynaldo Valdez
Assistant Athletic Trainer
804-828-2321 rjvaldez@vcu.edu
Dr. Dana Blackmer
Sports Psychologist
804-828-8978 drblackm@vcu.edu

Sports Performance

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Tim Kontos
Associate AD for Sports Performance and Student-Athlete Wellness
804-305-3720 takontos@vcu.edu
Guil Moreira
Assistant Sports Performance Coach
804-827-1365 gmoreira@vcu.edu
Buddy Donnelly
Director of Sports Performance for Women's Basketball
804-827-1365 donnellyj@vcu.edu
Chris Powell
Assistant Sports Performance Coach
804-827-1365 powellc9@vcu.edu
Haley Bishop
Director of Sports Nutrition
770-366-0891 hbishop@vcu.edu
Michael McCaughtry
Graduate Assistant

Ticket Office

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kevin Jackson
Associate AD for External Operations
804-827-0808 jacksonks@vcu.edu
Craig Moulden
Assistant Director of Ticket Operations
804-828-7474 ctmoulden@vcu.edu

Baseball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Shawn Stiffler
Head Coach
804-828-4822 smstiffler@vcu.edu
Mike McRae
Assistant Coach
804-828-4821 mmcrae3@vcu.edu
Rich Witten
Assistant Coach
804-828-4820 jrwitten@vcu.edu
Josh Tutwiler
Assistant Coach
804-828-7467 jtutwiler@vcu.edu
TBA
Director of Operations
Tim Kontos
Associate AD for Sports Performance and Student-Athlete Wellness
804-305-3720 takontos@vcu.edu

Men's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Mike Rhoades
Head Coach
804-828-1278 vcuhoops@vcu.edu
J.D. Byers
Assistant Coach
804-828-4329 jdbyers@vcu.edu
Brent Scott
Assistant Coach
804-828-4838 bscott32@vcu.edu
Jamal Brunt
Assistant Coach
804-828-4188 jbrunt@vcu.edu
Jimmy Martelli
Director of Operations
804-828-1680 jrmartelli@vcu.edu
Darius Theus
Director of Player Development
804-828-1278 theusdr@vcu.edu
Lamont Moore
Director of Student-Athlete Development
804-828-1278 mooredl7@vcu.edu
Chris Gaines
Video Coordinator
gainesc@vcu.edu
Dennis Williams
Sports Medicine Director for Men's Basketball
804-828-2321 dwilliams78@vcu.edu
Daniel Roose
Director of Sports Performance for Men's Basketball
djroose@vcu.edu
Dianne Long
Senior Secretary
804-828-1278 dalong@vcu.edu

Women's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Beth O'Boyle
Head Coach
804-827-0483 eaoboyle@vcu.edu
Kirk Crawford
Assistant Coach
804-828-8816 kcrawford@vcu.edu
Terry Zeh
Assistant Coach
804-828-4057 tzeh@vcu.edu
Morgan Williams
Assistant Coach
804-827-2154 mbwilliams2@vcu.edu
Mia Nickson
Director of Operations
804-828-1726 msnickson@vcu.edu
Vladimir Shtam
Director of Player Development
vshtam@vcu.edu
Erica Snow
Director of Student-Athlete Development
804-827-0483 snowe@vcu.edu
Ashley McGlon
Video Coordinator
804-828-3963 mcglona@vcu.edu
Chris Mignogna
Assistant Athletic Trainer
804-828-2321 camignogna@vcu.edu
Buddy Donnelly
Director of Sports Performance for Women's Basketball
804-827-1365 donnellyj@vcu.edu

Men's Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jon Riley
Head Coach
804-827-0946 jlriley@vcu.edu
Nicole Cook
Director of Cross Country/Assistant Coach
804-827-0945 cooknd@vcu.edu

Women's Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jon Riley
Head Coach
804-827-0946 jlriley@vcu.edu
Nicole Cook
Director of Cross Country/Assistant Coach
804-827-0945 cooknd@vcu.edu

Field Hockey

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Stacey Bean
Head Coach
804-828-3025 sbean@vcu.edu
Kayla May
Associate Head Coach
804-828-3702 kmmay2@vcu.edu
Kathi Weidman
Assistant Coach
804-828-4950 kweidman2@vcu.edu

Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Matt Ball
Head Coach
804-828-3027 mcball@vcu.edu
Cody Proveaux
Assistant Coach
804-828-2176 cproveaux@vcu.edu

Women's Lacrosse

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jen O'Brien
Head Coach
804-827-1127 jcobrien@vcu.edu
Liz French
Assistant Coach
804-828-6367 frenchea@vcu.edu
Caroline Fitzgerald
Assistant Coach
804-828-9273 fitzgeralcj@vcu.edu

Men's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Dave Giffard
Head Coach
804-828-4839 drgiffard@vcu.edu
Brett Teach
Assistant Coach
804-828-4805 bteach@vcu.edu
Matt Cannady
Assistant Coach
804-827-1992 cannadyme@vcu.edu
David Meiklejohn
Volunteer Assistant Coach
Ronnie Pascale
Director of Player Development
Joshua Gray
Graduate Assistant

Women's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Lindsey Martin
Head Coach
804-828-7617 lvmartin@vcu.edu
Aaron McGuiness
Assistant Coach
804-828-9926 amcguiness@vcu.edu
Martin Baker
Assistant Coach
804-827-1982 bakerm4@vcu.edu
Erin Trapp
Graduate Manager

Men's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Paul Kostin
Director of Tennis
804-828-4817 pkostin@vcu.edu
Anthony Rossi
Head Coach
804-828-1720 arossi@vcu.edu
R.J. Nagel
Assistant Coach
804-827-4433 rjnagel@vcu.edu

Women's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Paul Kostin
Director of Tennis/Head Coach
804-828-4817 pkostin@vcu.edu
Stefana Andrei
Graduate Assistant
andreis@vcu.edu

Men's Track & Field

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jon Riley
Head Coach
804-827-0946 jlriley@vcu.edu
Ethan Tussing
Assistant Coach (Throws)
804-828-1733 ektussing@vcu.edu
Nicole Cook
Director of Cross Country/Assistant Coach
804-827-0945 cooknd@vcu.edu
Thomas Sage
Assistant Coach (Hurdles, Vertical Jumps & Multis)
804-828-3026 tjsage@vcu.edu

Women's Track & Field

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jon Riley
Head Coach
804-827-0946 jlriley@vcu.edu
Ethan Tussing
Assistant Coach (Throws)
804-828-1733 ektussing@vcu.edu
Nicole Cook
Director of Cross Country/Assistant Coach
804-827-0945 cooknd@vcu.edu
Thomas Sage
Assistant Coach (Hurdles, Vertical Jumps & Multis)
804-828-3026 tjsage@vcu.edu

Women's Volleyball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jody Rogers
Head Coach
804-828-3024 jarogers@vcu.edu
Patrick Maloney
Assistant Coach
804-827-1205 pmaloney2@vcu.edu
Morris Cephas
Assistant Coach
804-828-7110 cephasma@vcu.edu
Tucker Evans
Graduate Assistant
twevans@vcu.edu
Tim Kontos
Associate AD for Sports Performance and Student-Athlete Wellness
804-305-3720 takontos@vcu.edu